Dartmouth (established in 1988)

1999 Warrant Article

AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION

The Selectmen shall appoint a citizen's committee to be called the AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT COMMSISION, to be comprised of nine members, serving staggered terms of three years each. Said members shall not concurrently serve as members of any elected or appointed Town board or commission. Said Commission shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Dartmouth, and to promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in the Town.

Mission: Preserve, revitalize and sustain the Dartmouth Agricultural Industry and its lands: encourage the pursuit of agriculture, promote agricultural-based economic opportunities, protect farmland.

Members: Eric Perry, Jim Munger, David King, Beverly King, Bill Owen, Susan Guiducci,

David Brownell, Darrin Mendes, and Sandy Gosselin

Alternates: Marcia Cornell-Glynn

Circle of Friends:

Westport (established in 2001)

AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION

To see if the town will vote to establish an Agricultural Commission to represent the Westport farming community. Said Commission shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in the town of Westport, and shall promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in the Town. The Commission will consist of seven members from the active farming community of Westport, appointed by the Board of Selectmen. Three members for a term of three years; two members for a term of two years, and three thereafter; and two members for a one-year term, and three years thereafter. Up to five alternates may also be appointed by the Board of Selectmen, each for one-year terms, and/or take any other action relative thereto.

Members: John Bettencourt, Charlie Costa, Karl Santos, Rob Russell, Shirley D'Agostino Robbins, and John Jay Silvia

Alternates: Claude Ledoux, Jay Tripp, Phyllis Michalewich, Ted Robbins, and Parker Mauk

Secretary ex-officio: Barbara Hanley

Circle of Friends:

Middleborough (established in 2002)

AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION

To see if the Town will vote to establish an Agricultural Commission to represent the Middleborough farming community. Said Commission shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Middleborough, and shall promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in Town. The Commission will consist of seven members from the active farming community of Middleborough appointed by the Board of Selectmen. The Commission shall consist of a minimum of four member who are primarily engaged in farming and another three members who are interested in farming. Three members for a term of three years, two members for a term of two years, and three years thereafter, and two members for a term of one year, and three years thereafter. Up to five alternates may also be appointed by the Board of Selectmen, each for one year terms, and/or take another action thereto. The appointing authority shall fill a vacancy based on the unexpired term of the vacancy in order to maintain the cycle of appointments, based on the recommendations of the Commission.

1. Appointing Authority: Board of Selectmen

2. Establish number of members of Commission: seven3. Establish terms of service: see article

4. Establish whether members must be Town residents: No. do not need to be a resident

5. Method of filling vacancies: see article

6. Purpose of the Commission:

Mission: To represent the Middleborough farming community. Shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Middleborough and promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in town.

Members: Darlene Anastas, Larry Harju, John Steill, Doug Kirk, Dawn Gates Allen, Derek

Maksy and Butch Bell. **Alternates**: Iain Ward

Alternates:

Rehoboth (established in 2003)

AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION

To see if the Town will vote to establish an Agricultural Commission to represent the Rehoboth farming community.

Said Commission once appointed shall develop a work plan to guide its activities. Such activities include, but are not limited, to the following: shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Rehoboth; shall promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in Town; shall act as mediators, advocates, educators, and/or negotiators on farming issues; shall work for preservation of prime agricultural lands; and shall pursue all initiatives appropriate to creating a sustainable agricultural community.

The Commission shall consist of seven members appointed by the Board of Selectmen. The Commission will consist of a minimum of four members whose prime source of income is derived from farming or agricultural-based enterprises in Rehoboth and another three who are interested in farming. Three members for a term of three years; two members for a term of two years and three thereafter; and two members for a one year term, and three years thereafter.

The appointing authority shall fill a vacancy based on the unexpired term of the vacancy in order to maintain the cycle of appointments, based on recommendations of the Commission.

Appointing Authority: Board of Selectmen
 Establish number of members of Commission: 7 plus 5 alternates
 Establish terms of service: staggered, see article

4. Establish whether members must be Town residents: No

5. Method for filling vacancies:

Board of Selectmen

6. Purpose of the Commission: To represent the Rehoboth farming

Community

7. Guiding Principles for Commission Appointment: Members should: represent Town geographically, represent the diversity and scale of agricultural businesses, represent the diversity of the Town's population, encourage next generation farmers. The overall intent is to be inclusive not exclusive

Mission: Promote agricultural-based economic opportunities; preserve, revitalize and sustain the Rehoboth agricultural industry, and encourage the pursuit of agriculture as a career opportunity and lifestyle.

Commission Members: (appointed October 2003)

Full time: Richard Pray, Phillip Boucher, Al Bouchard, Walter Munroe, Anne Petersen,

Patrick Gouveia, Dawn Cook

Alternates: Robert Peasley, George Brown, Barbara Vadnais, Elizabeth Botelho and June

House

Advisors: Barbara Link

Circle of Friends: